Emiliano Martinez is not bothered by FIFA's new rules for penalties
Argentina goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez, who was named the best goalkeeper of the 2022 World Cup, used "every trick in the book" to win his country the 2022 World Cup final in the penalty shoot-out against France.
FIFA announced new rules that would prevent goalkeepers from distracting penalty-takers following Martinez's antics in the recent World Cup. However, the Aston Villa goalkeeper insists he can adapt to new rules.
"I always said that after the Copa América, I don't know if I would do it again. I already saved the penalties that I had to save. And now the same thing happened to me, I don't know if I'm going to save a penalty in 20 years, maybe not, but I had to tackle them in the Copa América and in the World Cup. I was able to stop them and help the team win, that's enough for me,"
the Aston Villa keeper toldESPN
"We will always have to adapt to modern rules and what FIFA wants, so there will be no problem. We will adapt."
About helping Lionel Messi win the World Cup, the Argentine added:
"I’m happy because we were able to help Messi win the World Cup. I hope he continues to play and that it was not his last World Cup."
DISCLAIMER! Sportmob does not claim ownership of any of the pictures posted on this website. Again, we do not host pictures or videos ourselves. Our authors merely link to the rightful owner. Lastly, Sportmob have carefully considered and reviewed all of its content. Despite that, it is possible that some information might be out-dated or incomplete.