Tue 01 November 2022 | 18:32

Ancelotti fuming at Girona referee: “Maybe they’ve changed the rules!”

Being held to a 1-1 draw against Girona on Sunday, a VAR decision gave Girona a spot kick in the 81st minute. The Italian coach claimed the "penalty is an invention" as his comments might bring him further La Liga bans.

Claiming top of the La Liga table with just a one-point difference to their arch-rivals, Barcelona,

Carlo Ancelotti

might face a four-game La Liga ban after his comments regarding Girona's late penalty.

Ahead of their Champions League showdown against Celtic, the

Real Madrid

coach claims he’s not concerned by the potential ban. He told his press conference:

"They can suspend me, or not – four games, we'll wait and see.

"I've sat on the bench 1,200 times or more. If I miss four, I miss four.

"I still sleep at night. I want to clarify that I haven't disrespected anyone. I've said one thing that everyone in football understands.

"What is clear is that the referee association have complained about something I said. I'm not doubting the professionalism of a referee, I've never not respected a referee, I try and respect everyone."

Believing the

La Liga

referee misinterpreted the rules, the Italian coach added: "

The problem is, was it a penalty or was it not a penalty? I don't think it was, based on what they told us at the start of the season.

"Maybe they've changed the rules. If so, they should let us know, or is this always going to be a penalty from now on.

"We'd just like things to be clear. If it was a mistake, just say it was a mistake – everyone can make mistakes.

"If they tell us that this is a penalty, they have to explain it. I am not stupid and the rule that they have explained to us has told us that it was not a penalty."

Asked if VAR should have overruled the on-pitch official, Ancelotti replied:

"Sometimes the VAR has more prominence than the referee.

"The VAR came in to clarify clear errors... I understand that it is a very, very fine line, but it did seem to me that awarding the penalty was a clear error."



 for the 

latest football news

source: SportMob

DISCLAIMER! Sportmob does not claim ownership of any of the pictures posted on this website. Again, we do not host pictures or videos ourselves. Our authors merely link to the rightful owner. Lastly, Sportmob have carefully considered and reviewed all of its content. Despite that, it is possible that some information might be out-dated or incomplete.