Thu 09 June 2022 | 19:04

Phil Foden wins second consecutive PFA Young Player of the Year award

Phil Foden and Lauren Hemp win PFA Young Player of the Year.

Phil Foden

won the award for the second year in a row after playing a major role in

Pep Guardiola

's title-winning squad. He beat out Conor Gallagher,

Reece James

, Jacob Ramsey,

Bukayo Saka

, and Emile Smith Rowe.

The 22-year-old joins

Ryan Giggs

, Robbie Fowler, Wayne Rooney, Dele Alli, and City Women's Hemp as back-to-back winners. Foden was named

Premier League

young player of the season in May. He scored nine league goals, three Champions League goals, and one FA and League Cup goal for City in 2021/22.

PFA members vote for each award, recognizing the players who had the best year. Foden's acceptance speech: "I'm honored to win it back-to-back. I've improved my consistency this year, so I'm happy to win again." All the best players in the world must be consistent and perform at the highest level. This year, I've just tried to do that and help my team as much as possible.

"It's all about taking modest steps and progressing to earn the big honor. I love receiving individual accolades because it shows how far you've come, so I'm happy."

source: SportMob

DISCLAIMER! Sportmob does not claim ownership of any of the pictures posted on this website. Again, we do not host pictures or videos ourselves. Our authors merely link to the rightful owner. Lastly, Sportmob have carefully considered and reviewed all of its content. Despite that, it is possible that some information might be out-dated or incomplete.