Jose Mourinho's Roma wins the first UEFA Conference League

Wed 25 May 2022 | 21:09

Roma beat Feyenoord to win the inaugural Europa Conference League trophy.


won their first ever major UEFA competition thanks to a

Nicolò Zaniolo

goal against


in the Conference League Final in Tirana, Albania, on Wednesday night. 

Conference League is European football’s new third club competition which was introduced this season. Roma eliminated Vitesse, Bodø/Glimt, and Leicester City on their way to the final. Cyriel Dessers from Feyenoord with 10 goals was the top scorer in this comptetion.

It was an even game until the 22 year old Nicolo Zaniolo fires Roma ahead in the 32nd minute. He chested down a cross wonderfully after Gernot Trauner misread the flight of the ball from the left and side-footed home over the advanced goalkeeper with the outside of his left foot.

The last time AS Roma won any silverware came in 2008 when they won the Coppa Italia under Luciano Spalletti.

This is also Jose Mourinho's fifth European final and trophy. He has won each of the previous four finals – with Porto in the 2003 UEFA Cup and 2004 UEFA Champions League, Inter in the 2010 UEFA Champions League, and Manchester United in the 2017 UEFA Europa League.

source: SportMob

DISCLAIMER! Sportmob does not claim ownership of any of the pictures posted on this website. Again, we do not host pictures or videos ourselves. Our authors merely link to the rightful owner. Lastly, Sportmob have carefully considered and reviewed all of its content. Despite that, it is possible that some information might be out-dated or incomplete.