PSV become KNVB Cup winners after beating Ajax

Sun 17 April 2022 | 19:03

Following their win over Ajax, PSV Eindhoven became the 2022 KNVB Cup winners.


’s starting XI was the same as the one against

Leicester City

which came down to a defeat for them in the Europa Conference League.



Erik ten Hag

opted for Brian Brobbey instead of Sebastian Haller in the attack.

PSV were the team who had the initial chance; however, Eran Zahavi’s finding the target was ruled out as offside.

Ajax scored the opener through

Ryan Gravenberch

and took the lead. Ajax had domination on the remainder of the first half and Noussair Mazraoui even doubled their lead. However, the VAR ruled it as offside and PSV were relieved that it was just 1-0.

Only a few minutes into the second half,

Erick Gutierrez

scored the equalizer and two minutes later,


met the back of the net to help PSV take the lead.

Ajax pushed for an equalizer but failed to break into PSV’s resilience. PSV could have even made it 3-1 but Yorbe Vertessen met the woodwork.

PSV receive their second trophy in the 2021-22 season after the Johan Cruijff Schaal. Moreover, they got their first KNVB Cup since 2012.

source: SportMob

DISCLAIMER! Sportmob does not claim ownership of any of the pictures posted on this website. Again, we do not host pictures or videos ourselves. Our authors merely link to the rightful owner. Lastly, Sportmob have carefully considered and reviewed all of its content. Despite that, it is possible that some information might be out-dated or incomplete.

Related News
Follow latest Persian soccer news