Robert Lewandowski wins Striker of the Year award

Mon 29 November 2021 | 21:39

Bayern Munich and Poland striker Robert Lewandowski has been awarded the first Striker of the Year award at the Ballon d’Or ceremony.

Last year's prize was largely expected to go to

Robert Lewandowski

before it was canceled due to the outbreak of the coronavirus.

Last season, the Polish striker scored 73 goals in 60 games, which was 18 more than the second-highest scorer,

Kylian Mbappe

, and 22 more than the third-highest scorer,

Lionel Messi


Lewandowski was also awarded the 2021 Golden Boot after scoring as many as 41 times in the Bundesliga last season, and has also won FIFA's and UEFA's men's player of the year awards in 2020.

Speaking at the ceremony, the 33-year-old said:

“I’m very proud of this trophy, I know what it means to be ready to score the goal. Everything I do I have to thank my teammates, coach and staff. Without them it’s difficult to be at the front.”

source: SportMob

DISCLAIMER! Sportmob does not claim ownership of any of the pictures posted on this website. Again, we do not host pictures or videos ourselves. Our authors merely link to the rightful owner. Lastly, Sportmob have carefully considered and reviewed all of its content. Despite that, it is possible that some information might be out-dated or incomplete.