Lionel Messi wins the 2021 Ballon d’Or award

Mon 29 November 2021 | 19:30

The 2021 Ballon d’Or award will be held tonight after the last year’s ceremony was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, with Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski, and Jorginho competing to claim the men’s award.

Paris Saint-Germain


Lionel Messi

has won his seventh Ballon d'Or award tonight in a spectacular 2021 ceremony in Paris.

Messi has been named as the biggest contender to win the award after


won the Copa America earlier this year, despite having one of his less brilliant seasons at club level.

Last year's prize was largely expected to go to

Robert Lewandowski

before it was canceled due to the outbreak of the coronavirus.

Lewandowski has scored 73 goals in just 60 games for Bayern Munich since the start of last season, and won FIFA's and UEFA's men's player of the year awards in 2020.




was another option, having won the Champions League with his club and Euro 2020 with


a few months after.

20 of shortlisted players announced so far, The countdown from 30 to 11.

29= Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

29= Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)

26= Nicolo Barella (Inter)

26= Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

26= Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)

25 Phil Foden (Manchester City)

24 Pedri (Barcelona)

23 Harry Kane (Tottenham)

21= Lautaro Martinez (Inter)

21= Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)

20 Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

19 Mason Mount (Chelsea)

18 Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)

17 Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)

16 Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)

15 Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

14 Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)

13 Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)

12 Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)

11 Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

10 Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain)

9 Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)

8 Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

7 Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

6 Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

5 N'golo Kanté (Chelsea)

4 Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

3 Jorginho (Chelsea)

2 Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

1 Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain)

source: SportMob

DISCLAIMER! Sportmob does not claim ownership of any of the pictures posted on this website. Again, we do not host pictures or videos ourselves. Our authors merely link to the rightful owner. Lastly, Sportmob have carefully considered and reviewed all of its content. Despite that, it is possible that some information might be out-dated or incomplete.