My Profile

Moise Kean left out of Italy’s Euro squad

Mon 31 May 2021 | 9:28

After a successful loan spell at PSG scoring 13 goals in 26 Ligue 1 appearances, Juventus and Inter are reportedly interested in securing the 21-year-old’s services.

However, thinning out the large squad he selected on May 17, Mancini has been assessing his Italy squad over the last week after their 7-0 victory over San Marino on Friday.

"The choice to reach 26 on the squad list is the most difficult thing for me," Mancini said on

Rai 3

on Sunday.

The former Manchester City and Inter coach has settled on Kean as one who would miss out on Euros. In addition to Kean, he has also released Cagliari goalkeeper Alessio Cragno, Fiorentina left-back Cristiano Biraghi, Lazio's versatile right-sided player Manuel Lazzari, Fiorentina midfielder Gaetano Castrovilli, Freiburg forward Vincenzo Grifo and Sassuolo frontman Giacomo Raspadori.

"And even more so for the other two I will have to exclude for the final list," Mancini said. "Everyone deserved to be there."

On his side’s chances of lifting the Euro 2020 trophy, the Azzurri boss added: "There are national teams who on paper are ahead of us, like France, Portugal, Belgium and England. But I believe that Italy must go and try to get to the end."

Grouped with Turkey, Switzerland, and Wales in Group A, Italy will open their Euro campaign against Turkey in Rome on June 11.


Italy 28-man squad, to be reduced by two for Euro 2020:

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Milan), Alex Meret (Napoli), Salvatore Sirigu (Torino); 

Francesco Acerbi (Lazio), Alessandro Bastoni (Inter), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Napoli), Emerson Palmieri (Chelsea), Alessandro Florenzi (Paris Saint-Germain), Gianluca Mancini (Roma), Leonardo Spinazzola (Roma), Rafael Toloi (Atalanta); 

Nicolo Barella (Inter), Bryan Cristante (Roma), Jorginho (Chelsea), Manuel Locatelli (Sassuolo), Lorenzo Pellegrini (Roma), Matteo Pessina (Atalanta), Stefano Sensi (Inter), Marco Verratti (Paris Saint-Germain); 

Andrea Belotti (Torino), Domenico Berardi (Sassuolo), Federico Bernardeschi (Juventus), Federico Chiesa (Juventus), Ciro Immobile (Lazio), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Matteo Politano (Napoli).


source: SportMob