My Profile

Atletico Madrid crowned La Liga champions

Sat 22 May 2021 | 18:22

Atletico won their eleventh La Liga title after fighting from behind to beat Real Valladolid 2-1 in the final fixture of the 2020-2021 season.

Atletico Madrid

survived the final round to win their first Spanish league title since 2014 with a 2-1 come-from-behind victory against

Real Valladolid

on Saturday.

Atletico Madrid

went into the final day of the season just two points ahead of their city rivals

Real Madrid

thanks to

Luis Suarez

's late winner last week against



Diego Simeone

's side faced Real Valladolid on Saturday night, with the hosts also needing to win just to avoid relegation, while

Zinedine Zidane

's side took on


who will face

Manchester United

in the Europa League final on Wednesday.

Oscar Plano

's goal in the 18th minute gave Real Madrid hope that they could win the title.


Yannick Carrasco

's pass allowed

Angel Correa

to make it 1-1 at the Jose Zorrilla Stadium before Valladolid’s mistake in defense let former Barcelona striker

Luis Suarez

scored the winner.

Atletico's 11th league title ended a seven-year dominance by


and Real Madrid in Spain. Since 2014, Barcelona had won the league four times and Madrid twice, including last season.

source: SportMob