logo
My Profile

It was a clear penalty - Sevilla star Rakitic

Mon 10 May 2021 | 7:35

The Sevilla midfielder believes the penalty was well-deserved in their tight 2-2 draw with Real Madrid.

Sevilla

and

Real Madrid

were each given a point after

Toni Kroos

’ goal equalized the clash. The match had a controversy when referee Juan Martinez Munuera first awarded Real Madrid in the 74th minute as Bono committed foul on Karim Benzema.

However, he chose to overturn the decision, calling and pointing to the other end’s spot, following a handball inside the box.

Ivan Rakitic

converted it and thinks it was the right call.

For me it was a clear penalty as per the handball,”

he told

Marca

after the match.

“We can talk about how each person interprets it. But if the handball changes the direction of the ball, it is a penalty.”

Sevilla still have a slim chance of overtaking their

La Liga

title rivals as they head to next weekend’s clash against

Valencia

.


source: SportMob