My Profile

Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Juventus to face sanctions over ESL

Fri 07 May 2021 | 19:41

UEFA confirmed nine of the clubs involved in the Super League breakaway attempt have agreed to "reintegration" steps, while the three teams yet to pull out of the project will face sanctions.

The Premier League’s big six along with

AC Milan



, and

Atletico Madrid

all agreed to a “Club Commitment Declaration” but will have to give up 5% of their UEFA club competition revenue for one season.




Real Madrid

, and


have refused to sign the declaration and they will be referred to UEFA disciplinary bodies for sanctions after backing the new largely closed competition, meaning they could be banned from the Champions League.

UEFA president

Aleksander Ceferin


"I said at the UEFA Congress two weeks ago that it takes a strong organization to admit making a mistake especially in these days of trial by social media. These clubs have done just that.

"In accepting their commitments and willingness to repair the disruption they caused, UEFA wants to put this chapter behind it and move forward in a positive spirit.

"The measures announced are significant, but none of the financial penalties will be retained by UEFA. They will all be reinvested into youth and grassroots football in local communities across Europe, including the UK.

"These clubs recognized their mistakes quickly and have taken action to demonstrate their contrition and future commitment to European football. The same cannot be said for the clubs that remain involved in the so-called 'Super League' and UEFA will deal with those clubs subsequently."

source: SportMob