Florentino Perez explains his motivation on Euro Super League

Mon 19 April 2021 | 8:43

As been revealed yesterday, a total of 20 clubs will participate in the Euro Super League tournament while 12 elite clubs have been confirmed as the founding members of the competition.

Although UEFA has already threatened to suspend the involved clubs from domestic competitions, Real Madrid’s Florentino Perez, who has been confirmed as the president of the new league, believes it’s the right move for the sake of the whole football society.

He told


: “We are going to help football at all levels to take its rightful place in the world.

“Football is the only global sport in the world with more than four billion fans and it is our responsibility as a big club to respond to the wishes of the fans.”

The 12 founding members of the competition will be Real Madrid, Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Tottenham, AC Milan, Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, Inter Milan, and Juventus.

They all have confirmed their collective withdrawal from the European Club Association yesterday. A joint statement issued by the mentioned clubs reads: “Twelve of Europe’s leading football clubs have today come together to announce they have agreed to establish a new mid-week competition, the Super League, governed by its Founding Clubs.”

On the reasons behind their decision, the statement continues: “The pandemic has shown that a strategic vision and a sustainable commercial approach are required to enhance value and support for the benefit of the entire European football pyramid.”

The tournament will consist of 20 clubs. After playing in two ten-teamed groups, the top three in each pool will secure automatic qualification for the quarter-finals while teams in fourth and fifth will have to negotiate a play-off in .to qualify for the final last-eight positions

source: SportMob