On a quick counter-attack, Calvert-Levin was tripped by Trent Alexander-Arnold when he was following a rebound. The Mancunian referee, Kavanagh, pointed to the spot after a quick VAR check as Gylfi Sigurdsson doubled up Everton’s lead at Anfield.
"I really think it’s unfair to ask me because everybody asked me that question. That means everybody thinks it was not a penalty. But that's not really important because the ref thought it's a penalty,"
said at a press conference.
"I wanted to talk to him now after the first few interviews I had but they left already. I just wanted to ask what did he see because the VAR calls you over in a situation like that, then I think he is in doubt about the decision.
"But he needed only a second. He went there, watched it from three or four yards, turned and penalty. So he obviously saw something that all other people didn’t see.
"I didn’t see it back yet but everybody who speaks to me tells me the same: 'How can it be a penalty?'"