Sun 03 January 2021 | 9:49

Preston boss furious about Grabban’s penalty going against them

Alex Neil fumed when Lewis Grabban’s controversial penalty secured a 1-0 win for his side, Nottingham Forest.

A handball against

Darnell Fisher


Nottingham Forest

with a penalty but the striker

Lewis Grabban

’s goal was not ruled out by referee Tim Robinson after he double touched the ball.

Tom Barkhuizen and Ben Davies struggled to meet the back of the net and

North End

was left without any points.

First and foremost, my thoughts are that we should have won the game,

” Neil said.

We’ve hit the woodwork twice and created more than enough chances, but we’ve lost the game to a really dubious penalty.

“I’ve seen them penalties given before, but was that a clear penalty decision? I wouldn’t have said so.

“I don’t think Darnell has deliberately tried to block the shot with his hand or his arm.

“Then there’s the kick itself – Grabban has clearly taken two touches. He’s gone for it with his right foot, then he’s hit it again as he has gone down.

“It’s really disappointing, and the second bit is unforgivable. You can tell by the players’ reactions, especially Declan Rudd’s.

“I’ve got a lot of respect for this referee, but I think he knows he’s made an error today.

“That has been the single thing that has cost us. I really don’t understand how you can’t see a double touch in a situation like that


Forest have had their five consecutive matches unbeaten in the Championship which saw them out of the relegation zone.

It feels like a really big win for us,

” the Forest boss said.

I’m really pleased for a couple of reasons. Firstly, of course, it’s come away from home, and secondly because it’s helped our position in the league.

“That’s not a comfortable position, and one we still need to improve greatly.

“The first-half performance was good. The frustration was that you need some value in those situations, certainly in terms of getting yourselves a goal or a lead when you’re in that position.

“You do need that bit of luck sometimes, and they hit the crossbar in the second half, but we’ve deserved that result.

“Overall, though, over the 90 minutes I think we’ve gained a well-deserved win


Regarding the penalty, the Forest boss insisted Grabban’s strike didn’t double-touched the ball.

He said: “

At the time I couldn’t really see. It was definitely a penalty, but the kick itself, I’ve since been told Lewis did slip, but it wasn’t two touches. He kicked himself.

“It came at a big time for us, and I’m pleased because in some games this season we’ve not got what we deserved.

“Sometimes things do go your way, and undoubtedly today has been our day.”

source: SportMob

DISCLAIMER! Sportmob does not claim ownership of any of the pictures posted on this website. Again, we do not host pictures or videos ourselves. Our authors merely link to the rightful owner. Lastly, Sportmob have carefully considered and reviewed all of its content. Despite that, it is possible that some information might be out-dated or incomplete.