A great news for the Women Football, 8 teams added to the World Cup

Fri 25 December 2020 | 19:34

Fifa confirmed that up to 6 African teams can be qualified for the Women World Cup 2023.

The 2023

Women World Cup

will be hosted by



New Zealand

. Fifa has approved that up to 6 African teams can have a slot in the World Cup. There has been an expansion in the number of teams that can participate in the next World Cup and now there could be 8 additional teams.

Besides Africa, Uefa got 11, Asia claimed six, Concacaf earned four, while Conmebol and OFC bagged three and one respectively.

For the playoff tournament, two slots each went to Asia, Africa, Concacaf and Conmebol, while Uefa and OFC got one each.

"The two host countries, Australia and New Zealand, will automatically qualify for the Fifa Women’s World Cup 2023, and their slots have been taken directly from the quotas allocated to their confederations, namely the AFC and the OFC respectively," 

Fifa announced in a statement.

According to Fifa, the 10-team playoff tournament will be held in Australia and New Zealand as part of a World Cup prepration event, with all the teams participated to play at least two matches.

"Teams from the same confederation will not be permitted to be drawn in the same group,"

Fifa added.



 for the 

latest football news

source: SportMob