My Profile

Zico reveals Maradona’s first “Hand of God” was with Napoli

Mon 30 November 2020 | 16:35

The former Brazil international admitted he was present when Maradona got away with his first “Hand of God” goal.

According to


, the first “Hand of God” for

Diego Maradona

was during his time in Italy for which Zico received suspension for four games. The Brazilian, who objected to the referee’s decision, says he was sent out for asking the referee to disallow the goal.

Many have paid a tribute to the Argentinian following his death due to a heart-attack. Maradona, who won the 1986 World Cup with his international team, had already got away with a “Hand of God” goal had already against


two years earlier, admitted Zico.

“It was 1984, I had just arrived in Udine. I didn’t play in Naples and he scored a brace. We were 2-1 up but Diego scored the equaliser. The game was almost finished when they hit the crossbar and Diego anticipated our goalkeeper scoring with his hand.”

“The ref and his assistant didn’t notice it. I was furious, I run behind the referee and I told him: ‘Congratulations, continue like this, you are doing well.’ I was sent off and suspended for four games.”

“I often joked with him about his goal, I used to tell him: ‘You trained the Hand of God with us.’ He said: ‘You are the good part of football, I am the bad one.’"

When asked where he ranks Maradona in football's hall of fame, Zico replied:

“Maradona is among the best five players I’ve ever seen: Garrincha, Pele, Diego, Cruijff and Beckenbauer.”

source: SportMob