My Profile

Arab Cup 2021 will be held in Qatar with 22 national teams

Tue 24 November 2020 | 22:47

FIFA president Gianni Infantino has announced that the FIFA Arab Cup will be staged from 1 to 18 December 2021 in Qatar, with 22 Arab national teams taking part in it.

FIFA’s chairman, on his visit to Lusail Stadium, said he hopes that the regional tournament will bring millions of fans from the Middle East and Arab World together again.

FIFA President

Gianni Infantino


“We are delighted that all 22 teams from across the Arab world have agreed to take part in the FIFA Arab Cup 2021, which will be held in FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 stadiums, and we are looking forward to seeing the region’s best teams battle it out to see which nation will become champion. Through football, this tournament will unite over 450 million people from across the region, and we are confident that the FIFA Arab Cup will help to build excitement across the region as we edge ever nearer to hosting the first FIFA World Cup in the Middle East and the Arab world in 2022.”

QFA President, H.E.

Sheikh Hamad Bin Khalifa Bin Ahmed Al Thani

, said: “

Qatar looks forward to welcoming 22 Arab national teams and their fans, and giving them the opportunity to be one of the select teams that will experience what Qatar has prepared to host the FIFA World Cup.”

The 22 teams are Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

16 teams will play in the final stage as they play in four groups, with the first two teams qualifying for the quarter-finals.

source: SportMob