Courtois Becomes the First Zamora Trophy Winner with Two Madrid Clubs

Mon 20 July 2020 | 23:41

Thibaut Courtois became the first goalkeeper ever to win the Zamora Trophy with two different clubs - Atletico Madrid and Real Madrid.

Thibaut Courtois is the goalkeeper who wins the Ricardo Zamora Trophy in the wake of conceding only 20 goals in 34 matches and keeping 18 clean sheets for Real Madrid this campaign.

It's his 3rd trophy subsequent to winning with Atletico Madrid in 2012/13 and 2013/14. Courtois turned into the first-ever footballer to win the LaLiga championship with two Madrid clubs on Thursday night. 

Presently, the goalkeeper has become the first footballer in LaLiga ever to win the Zamora Trophy with both Madrid clubs being a key figure in the Real Madrid LaLiga champions team. 

The Zamora award goes to the goalkeeper with the least goals conceded in a LaLiga campaign and with just 20 goals in 34 matches, the Belgian was the greatest.

His (0.59) ratio gives him the edge over Atletico keeper Oblak's with (0.64) and Athletic Bilbao's Unai Simon's with (0.84) and Barcelona's Andre Ter-Stegen's with (1.00).

Having secured the trophy with

Atletico Madrid

twice, this award was the first for the Belgian with Real Madrid. He joined the rundown of 11 other Real Madrid players to win the trophy. 

The goalkeeper did not play in 2-2 draw on the last game of the campaign against Leganes as they had secured the championship previously. 

The 28-year-old was a key figure in Los Blancos' title win through dominating 10 matches in succession. He played for Atletico Madrid three campaigns between 2011 and 2014. 

The Belgian had won the award two campaigns in succession in the 2012-13 and 2013-14 seasons winning a Europa League, Copa del Rey, and LaLiga championship. 

After his great performance at the

FIFA World Cup

in Russia, Thibaut Courtois joined Galacticos in the mid-year of 2018.

The Spanish side spent a revealed €38 million on Courtois, making him the most costly goalkeeper in LaLiga ever.

The Octopus has played 77 games for

Real Madrid

up until this point has won a Club World Cup, a Spanish Super Cup, and a LaLiga championship.

Real has won the league title subsequent to a triumphant run of 10 matches after the restart. The trophy is their 34th LaLiga title and their first after 2017. 

Zizou preferred winning the LaLiga this campaign and he has stayed faithful. Los Blancos was unarmed at the back in their poor 2018-19 season. 

In this way, Zidane reinforced the defensive line purchasing

Ferland Mendy

to improve the left-back position. 

Varane and Ramos shaped seemingly the best defensive couple and


and Marcelo or Mendy offered great help. Be that as it may, the most improved of the part was Thibaut Courtois. 

The goalkeeper proved he is one of the greatest goalkeepers at the present time. He has won the Zamora award for his extraordinary form with the best goal-to-games ratio at the end of the campaign.

The trophy is provided by Marca and it is named after Ricardo Zamora. The standard for the Zamora trophy is that the player needed to play in any event twenty-eight games in Laliga campaign and at least an hour in each game.

Real Madrid has announced in a statement: "Thibaut Courtois has finished the league season by winning the Zamora Trophy, which is awarded to the goalkeeper with the fewest goals conceded throughout the campaign.

"Thibaut Courtois who set 18 clean sheets in the league, joins the recorded rundown of Madridistas who have won the award, the list is led by Vicente with three and Zamora, Betancort, and Buyo with 2.  Furthermore, with Casillas, Agustin, Junquera, Banon, Juan Alonso Miguel Angel, and Araquistain who won once each."

Courtois has become the first goalkeeper of all time to win the Zamora award with both Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid.


Read More:



 for the 

latest football news

source: SportMob